My husband bikes to school most morning, and even here in it's hardly winter California, it's still cold in the morning.  He asked me to knit him some ear warmers.  We picked out this pattern and some yarn.  I borrowed some small needles from my friend and bought the pattern and got to work.  

Things this project made me realize:
-I LOVE free patterns.  I like knowing what I have gotten myself into before I do it.  
-I don't like yarn that falls apart.  I have a feeling this may be a problem.
-I'm a super tight knitter.
-I hate synthetic yarns

I just finished binding off, and I really disliked the pattern.  The rib pattern doesn't even show up on mine, maybe that has to do with the yarn I used or that I used a bigger pair of needles,  I am not sure.  All I know is it wasn't worth my four bucks :/

It was a different project for me for sure.  I learned how to short row which was interesting and kind of fun but I suck at counting so I know everything was off a bit :/

As predicted school has restarted leaving me with much less time to work on knitting, but it didn't take me too long to finish Noah's ear warmers, though I probably could have done it in about a half of day if I just sat down and put my mind to it.  
3/29/2014 11:41:20 pm

If you're a super tight knitter, you can always use larger needles for your projects. But I found your knitting gets less tight over time.
And I agree about the synthetic yarns. Hate hate hate them. Especially for projects that need to be warm.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I'm a college girl with a husband, needles, passion, and a little bit of crazy.

    Archives

    January 2014

    Categories

    All