My brother and sister-in-law had a baby, which I am so excited about because now I am an aunt!  I was thinking about how sad I was that one day when I have a baby no one will be able to knit it baby blankets and cute things on my parent's side since they don't know how to knit.  One of my favorite things as a child was the baby blanket my grandmother knitted me.  She is such a crafter!  I don't know if Renae (my sister-in-law)'s mom knits or not so I decided I wanted to make something for her baby, Finehas (pronounced: fin-long a-as, not fine has like you were thinking).  

My Godmother, who is a fabulous knitter, recommended the yarn Heaven by Plymouth Yarn.  It is so amazing!  It is so soft but washable! It's made for babies.  Plymouth Yarn even has a pattern for a baby blanket called "Fast Baby Blanket."  It really is quite simple and fast, and I zipped through it! 

As a new knitter the yarn was a bit of a pain at first because it's so fluffy but I soon adjusted and had no problems after a while.  

Pictures of the finished project: 
That is the whole thing.  I probably could have got another row or two out the yarn but I misjudged it.  
Look how amazing the yarn texture is!  I really want one as a throw.  It's very tempting.  I might look for a pattern.  
1/5/2014 05:14:29 am

Congratulations on becoming an aunt! That's so exciting!
Don't worry, when you have a baby I will knit him or her something pretty! ;)

The finished blanket looks gorgeous and super soft! Very well done!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I'm a college girl with a husband, needles, passion, and a little bit of crazy.

    Archives

    January 2014

    Categories

    All